OGDEN & SALT LAKE CITY DIVORCE ATTORNEY
Filing for Divorce in Utah
Anyone filing for divorce in Utah must be a resident of Utah for at least 90 days. Filing for divorce must be done in the county where your residency requirements are met. If you have children, it can complicate the divorce as the courts may require you to prove residency for at least six months.
Grounds for Divorce
Utah is considered a no-fault divorce state. Only one spouse needs to file for divorce. In many situations, a no-fault divorce will be filed as “irreconcilable differences.” Utah does allow for a faulted divorce if the following problems has occured:
- Felony Conviction
Ready to get started? For sound legal counsel contact our Ogden Family Law Office at (801) 337-4355.
How Long Does Divorce Take in Utah?
Once the correct paperwork has been filed, it can take at least 30 days or longer after the compliant is filed. If both parties agree on the terms of the divorce, the overall process can proceed faster.
Why choose Ammon Nelson Law, PLLC?
- We have over a decade of family law experience.
- Nominated and awarded “New Parental Defender of the Year” in 2018
- We are in Good Standing at Avvo
- We have a 5 Star Rating on Google
- We are devoted and compassionate legal advocates.
- Wrote “Utah Guide to Divorce”
For your Ogden or Salt Lake City family law needs, contact us today and schedule a consultation